Our Dean and Board


Professor Mary Keogan is Dean of the Faculty of Pathology

As Dean, Prof Mary Keogan is responsible for overseeing all matters of the Faculty with the support of the Faculty Board and Committees.

She represents the Faculty on the RCPI Executive Board and on other national and international bodies.

Professor Mary Keogan

Dean of the Faculty of Pathology

Professor Mary Keogan is the Dean of the Faculty of Pathology.  Prof. Keogan is the former Clinical Lead for the National Clinical Programme in Pathology, and is currently a Consultant Clinical Immunologist in Beaumont Hospital Dublin. Prof. Keogan studied medicine at University College Dublin, undertook postgraduate medical training in medicine in Dublin, specialist training in Immunology in Cambridge in the UK, and as a Consultant Immunologist in Papworth NHS Trust, developed a specialised clinical immunology service. Since returning to Dublin, Prof. Keogan has developed a busy clinical and laboratory immunology service in Beaumont Hospital and is medical director of the National Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics Service for Solid Organ Transplantation. Research interests include optimisation of transplantation outcomes and improving clinical effectiveness in the use of diagnostic tests.

Our Board

We are governed by the Board of the Faculty of Pathology.

The Board is our ultimate decision-making body and is responsible for ensuring that the aim and functions of the Faculty are fulfilled on behalf of its members.

Prof Mary Keogan Dean
Prof Louise Burke Immediate Past Dean
Dr Ronan Desmond Honorary Secretary
Dr Maeve Doyle Director of Training and Education
Dr Deirbhile Keady Honorary Treasurer
Dr Gareth McKeeman RCPath Northern Ireland (Observer)
Dr Mike Obsborn President of the Royal College of Pathologists, UK (Observer)
Prof Aurelie Fabre Fellow
Dr Shari Srinivasan Fellow
Dr Joan Power Fellow, Observer
Dr Linda Mulligan Fellow
Dr Cynthia Heffron Fellow
Prof Robert Landers Fellow
Dr Marie Staunton Fellow
Dr Karen Burns Fellow
Dr Sine Phelan Fellow
Dr Niamh Nolan Fellow, Observer
Dr Muiris O'Ceidigh Lay Member
Ms Terry Prone Lay Member

Contact Us


RCPI Helpdesk

Tel: +353 1 8639721

Contact our Helpdesk for assistance with using our online products and services. Open Monday to Friday, 9:00am - 5:00pm.