Our Dean and Board

Our Dean

As Dean, Dr Louise Kyne is responsible for overseeing all matters of the Faculty with the support of the Faculty Board and Committees.  She represents the Faculty of Paediatrics on the RCPI Council and on other national and international bodies.

Dr Louise Kyne

Dean of the Faculty of Paediatrics

Dr Louise Kyne is Dean of the Faculty of Paediatrics. She commenced her consultant career in Letterkenny University hospital, as a General Paediatrician with a special interest in Community Child Health and took up her current Consultant Paediatrician post in Children’s Health Ireland (CHI) at Temple Street in 2007.  She graduated from University College Galway in 1990 and subsequently completed her initial paediatric training in Ireland. She furthered her clinical training in Nottingham, UK where she obtained an M.Med.Sci (Clin Edu) and completed a clinical and research fellowship (Suspected Child Abuse and Neglect) in The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto. She was the Associate Dean of Paediatric membership examinations in RCPI between 2007 and 2013.She is an Honorary Senior lecturer at RCSI  Her special interests include child maltreatment, child development /disability and clinical education.

Our Board

We are governed by the Board of the Faculty of Paediatrics.

The Board is our ultimate decision-making body and is responsible for ensuring that the aim and functions of the Faculty are fulfilled on behalf of its members.

  • Dr Louise Kyne, Faculty Dean, Forum Representative, Chair of Clinical Advisory Groups, Chair of Child Protection Peer Review
  • Dr Pamela O'Connor, Vice-Dean
  • Dr Sinéad Murphy, Honorary Secretary; RCPI Director of Eduction
  • Dr David Mullane, Honorary Treasurer
  • Dr Michael Boyle, Ex-Officio, Lead NSD for HST General Paediatrics, NCAG Co-Chair
  • Ms Sinead Callinan, Lay Representative; Head of Clinical Sponsorship Oversight TCD
  • Dr Emma Curtis, Elected Fellow Representative
  • Dr Anne Doolan, Co-opted, NCAG C0-Chair
  • Mr James Doorley, Lay Representative; Deputy Director, National Youth Council of Ireland
  • Dr John Fitzsimons, Ex-Officio, NSD of CPSP
  • Dr Paul Gallager, Co-opted, Recruitment & Retention Faculty Representative
  • Dr Conor Hensey, Ex-Officio, Lead NSD for BST
  • Prof Hilary Hoey, Co-opted, Professional Competence Lead
  • Dr John Gabriel Joyce, Co-opted, Trainee Representative
  • Dr Juliette Lucey, Elected Fellow Representative
  • Dr Ciara McDonnell, Ex-Officio, Associate Dean of Examinations
  • Dr Judith Meehan, Ex-Officio, Immediate Past Honorary Secretary; Convenor of Meetings
  • Dr Anne Marie Murphy, Ex-Officio, Lead NSD for HST General Paediatrics
  • Dr Susan O'Connell, Elected Fellow Representative
  • Dr Michael O'Grady, Elected Fellow Representative
  • Dr Ike Okafor, Elected Fellow Representative
  • Dr Angela O'Leary, Elected Associate Member Representative
  • Dr Michaela Pentony, Co-opted, Trainee Representative
  • Dr Roy Gavin Stone, Elected Collegiate Member Representative

Contact Us


RCPI Helpdesk

Tel: +353 1 8639721

Contact our Helpdesk for assistance with using our online products and services. Open Monday to Friday, 9:00am - 5:00pm.